Big Breakfasts-Grok On!

Bacon Chicken Fritatta

My apologies for the lack of posts this week. I am still recovering from my ear infection and attempting to complete my normal routine. By the end of the day, when I usually post, I am totally worn out and I have no energy left to write. Here’s to feeling better this week!

Lately we haven’t been able to go to church together, so we’ve started a new tradition of getting up earlier on Saturday morning, making a good breakfast, and watching a sermon together. It’s nice to have a set time to spend with my husband.

This week, I made a Bacon Chicken Fritatta. So good.

 

Bacon Chicken Fritatta

Serves two hungry people
 
Four slices of bacon
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 small zucchini, sliced
1/3 red pepper, sliced
1 cup broccoli, cut into small florets
1 cup diced chicken
8 eggs
1 TBL whole milk, half & half, cream, or whatever…
1/2 cup raw cheddar cheese
1 TBL dried oragano
1 TBL dried thyme
1 cup spinach
Salt & pepper
Extra cheese for topping
 

Cut veggies

 
1. Using kitchen shears, cut the bacon into small pieces. Toss into a large pan (with a lid). Cook on medium until crispy. 2. Remove bacon from the pan, but don’t dump the precious fat!
3. Add onion to the bacon fat. Cook until translucent, about five minutes. Add other vegetables. Cook until tender.
4. Add bacon and chicken to veggies.
5. Meanwhile, crack eggs into a medium bowl. Whisk with your choice of cream and seasonings. Add cheese.
6. When vegetables are tender, pour the egg mixture over the veggies. Add salt and pepper. Spread spinach over the mixture. Cover with lid and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook until eggs are set, about 10 minutes. Turn on broiler.
7. Remove the lid from the pan, sprinkle with cheese, and set under broiler. Broil until bubbly!
 

Broiled until deliciously brown!

Serve with oranges 🙂
 

Mmmm

We did have a little leftover, which made a perfect breakfast this morning!

I love breakfast…

