Day 5: Roast Your Own Peppers!

Hello, last Saturday before I return to real life… busy life… I will miss the freedom of no particular schedule. June 18th, graduation, you can’t come soon enough.

I had success in sleeping last night. Opening the windows and cooling our bedroom to 62* may have influenced my ability to sleep. Or perhaps it was skipping the wine. I’m not entirely sure, but I am so glad to rest well!One of the things I enjoy about cooking a whole chicken in the crockpot is that the bones can be tossed back into the crockpot to make broth. Then, I use the broth for a crockpot soup.

I dread the day our crockpot breaks…

This recipe calls for a half of a 14oz jar of roasted red peppers. I went to the store looking to buy an organic jar of roasted red peppers (they’re on the dirty dozen list). Upon finding the jars in the store, I promptly refused to pay $4.19 for a jar of red peppers, probably containing one pepper. I walked over to the produce isle and picked a large, beautiful organic pepper for under $2. Then, I went home and roasted the pepper myself.

Roasted Red Peppers

Roast directly on the rack

1. Turn oven onto 400*
2. Wash pepper and remove stickers.
3. Place pepper on rack. Bake for 30 minutes. With tongs, turn over the pepper at 15 minutes.
4. When finished roasting, place pepper in paper bag. Let cool ~10minutes.
5. Peel and discard charred skin.
6. Cut and use in anything!
 

Pre-peeling

Why pay $4.00+ for something you can do on your own?

By the way, the soup was delicious. The cauliflower was good too. I don’t like cauliflower, but I enjoyed it mashed.

What’s your least favorite veggie?

