Day 3: Coconut Cream(er)

Before I show you how to make delicious coffee creamer, I want to update you on how my paleo transition is going.

Day 3 Lunch: Leftover chicken breast, avocado, and tomatoes over broccoli slaw and greens, topped with balsamic vinegar and olive oil

Day 1 was easy. Day 2 and Day 3 have been more difficult. I am successfully eating paleo foods and staying away from frozen yogurt, despite my everyday desire to indulge in sugary cream. However, I believe I’m undergoing something many people call the “carb-flu.” I am achy, I have very low energy, and I feel like I’m running a fever at times. From what I’ve read, these are normal symptoms of beginning the paleo life. Basically, my body is detoxing all of the junk I ate before eliminating grains and sugar. It should end by day 10. So, I’m tired. But here is what I created this morning!

Coconut Cream(er)

Vanilla Coconut Cream

The reason I continue using parentheses in the title is because you can use this as a topping or as a coffee creamer. I preferred it as a berry topping.

To make you will need:

One can coconut milk, three medjool dates, one vanilla bean

To make:

1. Pit and dice the dates.
 
2. Pour the coconut milk into a small saucepan and add the dates. Warm on medium heat for five minutes.
 
3. While the coconut milk and dates are heating (try not to boil!), cut the vanilla bean in half and scrape out the insides. Add to coconut milk mixture.

The dates will take on a light appearance when their sweetness has been extracted

 
4. Continue heating for about 15 minutes to extract the sweetness from the dates and infuse the vanilla flavor into the
milk.
 
5. Carefully taste your warm coconut milk. When you are satisfied, strain the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove any large date pieces. Squish remaining liquid from the “date paste.*Alternatively, you could also blend the mixture in a blender until a desired consistency is reached-some date pieces will likely remain in this method.*
 
6. Stir, cool, and store in the refrigerator. Enjoy as a topping or as coffee creamer!
 

Coconut cream over raspberries

Coconut coffee

I usually drink my coffee decaf and with a splash of half-and-half. How do you like your coffee?

