Day 1: Shopping & Sardines

I completed my first paleo-approved shopping trip.

I β™₯ Trader Joe's!

Almond Milk (I usually buy coconut, but no boxes were on the shelf)
Eggs
Almonds
Garlic
Tri-colored Peppers
Roma Tomatoes
Brussels Sprouts
Broccoli Florets and Slaw
Leeks
Mushrooms
Snap Peas (questionable item)
Carrots
Spring Mix
Canned Salmon
Kale
Avocados
Chicken (from Market of Choice)
Total: somewhere around $50
Β 

Today, I’m heading to Long’s Meat Market to buy meat for the rest of the week!

I have no specific plan for anything, except the chicken. That scares me because I usually create a menu on Saturday and buy everything for those meals on Sunday. I just kind of bought all of the vegetables at Trader Joe’s. We’ll see what happens…

After shopping, I fried carrots, snap peas, leeks, and spinach in Kerrygold’s butter, lemon juice, and cracked pepper. Top it off with sardines and that makes my first paleo dinner.

My first experience with sardines

Currently, I don’t foresee many dinners with sardines as the showcase item. My tastebuds might change though.

I think one of my biggest challenges will be to eat enough protein at each meal. I have to remember that what I used to eat in rice or quinoa, I must replace with protein.

Once I get the hang of this, my meals will become more interesting and I’ll post tested recipes. Yay!

How do you buy groceries? According to what’s on sale? Build a menu? Buy things and make something?

