Kitchen Sink Frittata & Whole 30 Results

Onions, Peppers, Broccoli, & Beet Greens

I had my first bite of sugar in 30 days… Espresso Frozen Yogurt made from cashew milk. Good stuff. However, it just tastes like sugar…. I had higher hopes. The bite of dark chocolate I had was a whole new experience. I noticed flavors that I have never tasted before. I’m still into dark chocolate.

I would be lying if weight loss weren’t one of the motivating factors to doing the Whole30. So, when I took my post-Whole30 measurements and weighed myself, I was disappointed to see that not much has changed. I lost 2lbs… I lost about 1.5” total. Disappointing. I know I have more to lose, or at least convert to muscle. I don’t feel like I look that different either.

Other not-so-great things, I am still having bathroom issues due to what I believe is leaky gut. I guess I need to keep dairy & grains out for a while longer. I’ve had nausea the last few days. No idea what to attribute it to, but diet. No… not pregnant.

Some good things did come from the Whole30 though. My nails are growing and they’re growing STRONG! My problem area on my face has cleared up. No more nagging shoulder pain. My mile time is faster, but that could be just because I’ve been running more consistently.

I guess it’s been worth it… I’m going to take the next week and half off from eating strictly Paleo, but when I start my new job I am going to jump right back in. I might extend the length to 60 though. I also plan to cut back on nuts and fruit (I didn’t think I was eating that many, but maybe that’s what stalled weight loss). With a new schedule, I should be able to stick to three-meals-a-day and ceasing to eat a couple hours before bedtime. I’m putting hope into Whole30 Round 2.

Here’s another stand-by recipe that we’ve been using during our Whole30.

Kitchen Sink Frittata

This is a very versatile recipe. You can use any veggies or protein you have on hand.

Cooking Fat of your choice
1 Yellow Onion, chopped
2 C Broccoli, chopped
1/2 Red Bell Pepper, chopped
1/2 Yellow Bell Pepper, chopped
1/2 C Cooked Chicken (left-overs!)
2 C Beet Greens, stems removed and coarsely chopped
9 Eggs
Italian Seasoning
Salt & Pepper
 
1. Using an oven-safe skillet, sautee onion in 1-2 TBL of cooking fat until translucent using medium heat.
2. Add broccoli and cook until almost tender. Add peppers and cook until tender.
3. Add chicken and cook until warm.
4. Add beet greens and cook until wilted.
5. Preheat oven to 400*.
6. Combine eggs with seasonings and whisk.
7. Pour into pan with veggies. With a spatula pull eggs to center of pan, making “lumps” of egg, and letting uncooked egg cover the bare pan.
Continue for about 2 minutes.
8. Place in oven for 12 minutes, or until puffy and golden.
9. Let sit for a few minutes before devouring. Add avocado for healthy fat!
 
 
