Whole30 Scramble

Today is the last day of our Whole30! Honestly, we’re both a little shocked that a) we made it & b) it went so quickly. The first two weeks were rough as we adjusted. I had to adjust to cooking Paleo for two and Scott adjusted to eating meat at every meal.

While neither of us are looking forward to one specific food, we do have hopes in mind. Scott is looking forward to the convenience of eating things without mentally checking the do/don’t list. And I’m looking forward to baking again. I really do love to bake… I have some almond butter calling me to make some cookies this weekend.

Scott probably won’t repeat the Whole30, but I know that I will. During this Whole30, I was working mostly nights at my job. I had a really difficult time with an eating schedule and fell into “night eating” quite a bit. In a couple weeks, I am starting a new job (full-time at a non-profit! Hooray!) and will have a much more normal schedule. After a week of vacation, I plan to jump into my second Whole30 to solidify good habits. Like eating three meals, not eating before bed, and not eating the free food in the kitchen at work! I plan to continue to cook (& eat) strictly Paleo, but meals that Scott eats away from home will probably have non-Paleo ingredients.

The last month has helped me with meal planning and making sure we get enough protein. When I started Paleo, I would fast between breakfast and dinner so that I wouldn’t have to cook lunch. I wasn’t getting enough nutrition. However, during the last month, I’ve figured out how to feed both of us for each meal!

I’ve been wanting to share this recipe for awhile because we have eaten it every week during the Whole30. It has been a fantastic staple.

Oh, come back tomorrow for results and how our bodies have reacted to the Whole30. :)

Pork, Sweet Potatoes, and Greens

Morning Scramble

2lbs Ground Pork
1 Yellow Onion
Cooking Fat (Olive oil, coconut oil, bacon fat, clarified butter, marrow)
Italian Seasoning (2 teaspoons dried parsley, 2 teaspoons dried Italian herbs, 1 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 teaspoon paprika, 2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, 3/4 teaspoon fennel seed.)
2 Sweet Potatoes, chopped
 
Add-Ins:
Greens
Diced Apples
Eggs (scrambled in OR cooked sunny-side up and laid on top-My FAVE)
 
1. Heat 1-2TBLS cooking fat over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until translucent and yummy.
2. Crumble pork with hands into pan with onions. Use a spatula/wooden spoon to break any larger chunks.
3. Add Italian seasoning. Stir and cook until pork is no longer pink.
4. Drain fat and remove pork and onions from pan. Note: if you are using grass-fed, organic pork you do not need to drain the pork fat.
5. Add 1TBL of cooking fat to pan. Add sweet potatoes. Stir. Add 1TBL of water. Cover and cook until potatoes are soft.
6. Add sausage & onions back into the pan. Combine.
7. Add in any add-ins. Collards are in the picture above. Cook until greens are wilted, apples are soft, or eggs are cooked.
8. Devour and remember why you love to eat this way.
 
