Deciding to be Happy

Chocolate covered almonds dusted with coconut

Yesterday I did something dumb. I drown all of my emotions (or I tried, but ended up escalating my irritability) with Phish Food by Ben & Jerry’s. Definitely not healthy for my mind. Definitely not Primal. I woke up this morning and decided that I would have a good day. So far, I have been great.

A few months ago, we made the switch from shopping at a huge shopping center to buying organics from Trader Joe’s and a local health food store. It was a scary jump since our food budget is so small. More recently, I’ve been thinking about buying from farmers at the farmer’s market. Today I went to the farmers market and left empty handed… $5 for a half-pound of spinach is not currently in our price range. Neither is $3.50 for a pound of zucchini. After feeling defeated, I picked myself up (remember? I told myself I would have a good day?) and told myself you do what you can & right now, that’s buying organic from a larger business.

That’s how we all live. We do what we can. And that’s fine.

After the farmer’s market, Vanilla Jill’s sent me to an open house at a nursery to sell our product. A beautiful nursery, warm sun, and good frozen yogurt. Not much more to ask for. The sun drained my energy, but it was so nice to sell frozen yogurt outside the shop!

Dinner with a friend ended my evening. Interestingly enough, she also woke up and decided that today was going to be a good day. She, also, had a great day. I have concluded that our mindset really does affect our mood. I want every day to be a good day :)

How many pieces can I sneak while breaking the bar to fit into a container???

Chocolate Covered Almonds

This recipe is incredibly easy, quick, and contains NO SOY! Hooray!
 
2 90% Lindt dark chocolate bars
2 1/2 C Raw almonds
Coconut
 
1. Prepare a cookie sheet lined with Silpat or parchment paper.
2. Set almonds in a medium mixing bowl. Set aside.
3. Break chocolate into smaller pieces and melt on low in a double boiler-we used a glass measuring cup in a small saucepan).
4. Remove chocolate from double boiler and pour over almonds in mixing bowl.
5. Stir until well coated.
6. Spread chocolately mix onto prepared baking sheet. Dust with coconut if desired.
7. Place in freezer to harden- about 10-15 minutes.
8. Break apart and store in an air-tight container. Ours is stored in the freezer because it’s getting warm here!
